Captain’s Log: Stardate 94886.86

Hello!

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything, but I’ve been pretty busy. There’s only one week of classes left followed by finals week, so I’ve got a lot of things due. This is going to be a short post about some silly little life updates in the last few days.

1) I’ve recently rediscovered my love for pineapple.

So, like I said, there’s about two weeks or so left of school and I haven’t gone to the grocery store in a good month because I’ve been trying to spend the extra meal plan/flex money I have and I can only spend it on campus. Also I haven’t gone to the store because I’m broke and can’t afford to buy myself groceries. That means I make frequent trips to the coffeehouse, which is right next door to my apartment. I go most mornings to pick up something for breakfast and I eat lunch there everything Tuesday and Thursday with my Co-Editor/Life Partner/Love of my Life Ali. They have a bunch of different things there, but recently I decided to buy one of the little container of pineapple and I’ve been eating it non-stop since then. As I type this I’m currently eating pineapple for breakfast while at work. There something about that bright, refreshing taste that I can’t get enough of.

Honest to God, I can’t believe I forgot about how good pineapple is.

2) I started a new book (or two)

I’ve recently bought three new books off of Amazon. You may be asking yourself “How does she have money to buy books but none to buy food?” Well, the answer is really simple. I am the Worst™ and spend my money on things I don’t actually need, like these books. Whatever, the way I see it is that I could be spending my money on much worse things.

Anyway, the first book I bought is a political book called The Party Is Over: How Republicans Went Crazy, Democrats Became Useless, and the Middle Class Got Shafted. I’m only a few pages in to it, but as a Political Science major, these are the types of books that I love to read in my spare time. I’m excited to get a little further in this book, but I’ve been concentrating on different books more as of now.

The second book I bought and am currently reading is Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I also just bought the sequel to it, called Crooked Kingdom, but it’s still on its way here. I’m really invested in this one. If you know me well, you’d know that I’m a sucker for any book series that has interesting, complex characters (like The Raven Cycle series or the All For The Game series). Six of Crows has so many good characters so far. It’s about a group of criminals from this gang who are trying to bust out someone being held hostage in a prison that’s never been broken into before. It also takes place in a whole fantasy world with magic (maybe? they don’t really describe it as magic) and a bunch of other cool made up things. Bardugo does a good job of explaining these made up things, though, so it’s not confusing to read. I started the book on Wednesday and read the first 300 pages and I’m planning on finishing the next 200 today. I might hold off though because Crooked Kingdom won’t be here until next Wednesday at least.

Books are something I’m really passionate about, so I might write up a list of my favorite books as well as do a book recommendation type of thing at some point.

3) I wrote a 14 page paper for my Legislative Process Class.

Listen, this paper honestly wasn’t hard but I didn’t want to do it so much that it felt like it took me an eternity to write it even though I wrote it in about 3/4 days. It was for my Legislative Process class, which deals with all things about the U.S. Congress, and I wrote about Thaddeus Stevens and his time as the chair of the Committee on Ways and Means and how it impacted the Civil War. Yeah, writing it was about as fun as the topic sounds. But I got it done and handed it in, and that’s all that matter. Also, Thaddeus Stevens was a badass and he’s out here reppin Lancaster, so he’s all good in my book.

There are probably other things that have happened that I can’t remember, but that’s all I have for now. I wanted to keep this pretty sure because I haven’t updated my blog in a while and I just wanted something small to put on here to let everyone know I am still alive and kicking.

Look for more posts in the future!

– Kaylee

Leave a Reply

